North Sea Wildlife Trusts

PlaicePlaice - Mark Thomas

Stretching from Suffolk up to Northumberland, and reaching as far inland as Derbyshire and Leicestershire, we are 12 local Wildlife Trusts working in partnership to better protect wildlife native to the North Sea.

The twelve Trusts (Northumberland, Durham, Tees Valley, Yorkshire, Sheffield & Rotherham, Lincolnshire, Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire and Rutland, Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire & Northamptonshire, Norfolk, Suffolk), located across the east coast of England, aim to make the concept of 'Living Seas' a reality through a project which will promote protection of the North Sea's rich and diverse marine wildlife, from the depths of the ocean to the coastal shallows.

The project focuses on the English North Sea, from Northumberland down to Suffolk and 200 nautical miles out to sea. The marine environment is not a confined one; processes occurring in one area will both directly and indirectly affect others. It is for this reason we will be exploring and developing links with neighbouring projects and partner organisations where possible to turn Living Seas in to reality.

Want to find out about what we do on a regular basis? Then follow us on Facebook or Twitter by clicking the icons below.





@NorthSeaWT tweets

A-Z of Wildlife

Photo of Lesser Spotted Dogfish

Name: Lesser Spotted Dogfish

Scientific name: Scyliorhins canicula

Category: Fish and sharks

View full A-Z

White-beaked dolphin in the North Sea

Watch video